Trade Test

This is also an RPL. It is for people who has completed all required training or a person who has never been trained but is an artisan (section 28) but meets all the requirements by the Merseta to qualify. This person will be given an informal but complete trade test and should be found competent practically without assistance. This is also done in 2 days.

MCD TRAINING Special Courses

Trade Test Assessments

1. What are the requirements for section 28 (Section to 26D)


According to the Department of Higher Education and Training. Trade Test Regulations 2014 Skills Development Act, 1998 (Act97 of 1998)

  1. Minimum three (3) years relevant work experience within South Africa and N2 certificate including relevant trade theory. OR
  2. Minimum three (3) years relevant work experience within South Africa and Relevant Engineering NC(V) NQF level 3. OR
  3. Minimum three (3) years relevant work experience within South Africa and Technical Grade 12 with Maths, Engineering Science and related theory subject. OR
  4. Minimum Eighteen (18) months relevant work experience within South Africa, completed of all relevant work experience modules and Relevant Engineering NC(V) NQF level 4. OR
  5. Minimum Eighteen (18) months relevant work experience within South Africa and relevant (directly related to the trade theory subjects) N6 certificate or National Technical Diploma   (S and N Stream)
  6. Minimum four (4) years work experience within South Africa with Grade 9 (Standard 7)
  7. Successful completion of merSETA registered NQF Level 2, 3 and 4 trade related learnerships with minimum two (2) years, inclusive of the institutional and workplace components


NB! Certified documents must not be older than three months.

  1. Clear originally certified copy of Identity Document
  2. Originally certified copy of educational qualification
  3. Original or originally certified service letter on a company letter head as proof of experience within South Africa with detailed daily duties, start date and signed off by the duly authorised person.
  4. Where applicable, originally certified copy of a valid work permit
  5. A candidate, who attempted a trade test and passed at least 50% of the number of tasks given, will be given recognition for those tasks. The recognition will be retained by the candidate for a maximum of 3 attempts or 18 months from the date of successful completion of the trade task whichever comes first.
  6. A period of at least one-month must lapse before a 2nd attempt at a trade test may be undertaken.
  7. The MerSeta will communicate the outcome of the application directly with the applicant and not third party
  8. An arrangement may be made for MerSeta to pay for the trade test fee for unemployed candidates.
  9. A pre-assessment may be recommended whereby the cost will be liable by the employer or candidate
  10. Relevant work experience means according to training schedules for the trade.

Tool Jig, Die-maker and Plastic Mould Makers, the applicant needs to do pre-work before attempting the actual trade test. Documentation in this regard must be requested from the applicable Regional Office of MerSeta prior to the trade test date for completion.

The MerSeta may decline the application if there is a conflict of interest with regard to the selected DTTC


There is no difference because the trade test itself is exactly the same, the only difference is Merseta will give its own qualification (red seal) and Olifantsfontein qualification is issued by the department of labour.

A apprenticeship is a minimum of 80 Weeks (40 Weeks Institutional training – 40 Weeks Practical training) with a maximum of 4 years. An agreement between the candidate, SETAand the employer. A trade test will be written after the completion of formal training.

A learnership is a 3 year qualification, with NQF Level 2, 3, 4. Qualification will be awarded for each level. There is no trade test involved after the completion of Level 4. On each level there is 60% institutional training and 40% on the job training. There is a 4 way contract between employer, learner, training provider, and SETA.

Merseta, EWseta, Teta, Ceta.

I'm ready